I made God a promise. ..following my trust in him for an intervention in an area of my life. Couple of Months later, I’m on the verge of another decision and it appears this decision will affect the convenient fulfilment of my promise. The situation has God’s prints on it already, I know in little or no time, I’ll be overtaken by my testimony.
Now, the question is circling my mind….hovering and looming…can I keep my promise? Am I capable of the discipline and self denial necessary to keep my promise? How do I learn not to hold tenaciously the very thing I’ve been praying for and expecting for so long.
Sure, you’ve been where I am now at some point in life… Up and about your daily chores and tasks but with an unrelated tab open….running a background process in your mind… Nap time comes and it appears the tab has closed but on waking, you realize the background process never really shut down… The tab is still open!
Usually something triggers this realization…maybe you stumble on something that connects with the open tab…. That’s what just happened to me in 1 Samuel 2:1 – 11.
Hannah has been taunted, humiliated and suffering personal pain over her lack of a child. She’s resigned to a place where she has accepted that the only way she can have a child is by God’s help…all else have fallen through and failed life’s tests.
She’s so consumed with trusting, the prophets insinuation of drunkenness is incapable of getting her upset.. Her heart is fixed!
And just like me…and most persons she has come to that place of full persuasion and certainty that God will do what he has promised…and so in reaction to this and in thanksgiving ahead of time we make a promise.
Most times, its a huge commitment but on a different stream from the subject of belief… Not hannah. Hannah promises the Lord, the very thing she’s trusting him for!
I’ve wondered to myself if she was sorely pressed to prove her capability for pregnancy and child birth much more than the bond and fulfilment of nurturing and raising a child…I can’t say I have a full hang of it just yet.
I’m watching Hannah through the scriptures… I’m looking for her to come back for renegotiation…  Something Like Lord….. You know what… I haven’t been pregnant before, I didn’t get how tasking this would be to let go of my baby…. Can I clean the temple instead?  Not Hannah… She ain’t a deal breaker.
Her words are these…

1 And Hannah prayed, and said, My heart rejoiceth in the Lord, mine horn is exalted in the Lord: my mouth is enlarged over mine enemies; because I rejoice in thy salvation.

There is none holy as the Lord: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any rock like our God.
1 Samuel 2:1-2 (KJV)

In keeping her promise, Hannah acknowledges that she doesn’t treasure the gift more than the giver.. Her eyes are on the giver, her praise and adoration, her focus and trust are solely on the giver… Not the gift!
Perhaps you’re at the place where you are thinking through the promise you’ve made to the Lord…. And it just may be appearing somewhat weightier than it did before.
I hope you learn from Hannah as I have done… I hope you gain encouragement not to renege… For an unwillingness to let go of the gift may indicate a lack of focus on the giver….

And yes, Hannah had more after she gave Samuel.

….didi

27 For this child I prayed; and the Lord hath given me my petition which I asked of him:

28 Therefore also I have lent him to the lord; as long as he liveth he shall be lent to the Lord. And he worshipped the Lord there.

1 Samuel 1:27-28 (KJV)

Leave a Reply

